Minecraft Creation: White Tiger Fortress

I love this game mainly for its classic design of individual blocks to build complex masterpieces, ingenious contraptions, computers, or even music. It’s a virtual world stripped down to the primitive pixels. The pre existing terrain has unique formations that are fun to explore, best before the cubed sun sets. I am still a noob trying to learn from experiences–as I will mention later!

My sister asked me if I could make a white tiger and I found a fit spot for it. Then I saw a pretty canyon and decided to explore onwards onto the next pretty cliff and onto the next pretty something. Then the next thing I know, I got lost and I couldn’t find my original work. I tried backtracking for 45 minutes, but to no avail. And no, I did not know how to make a map at this point. Good news was that I didn’t have much built yet. I also found a more suitable place for the new tiger, right near a pretty rock formation and above terraced grasslands.

I used several tiger picture as references. It took about a week to finish the exterior, on peaceful mode. Half of the time being spent on procrastination and gallivanting with an unlimited supply of TNT.

Here are some progress pics.

Finally, the finished rotations. (Click for full view.) : )

On the early  stages, I made another mistake. As curious as one can be, never do any experiments on the first floor of your creation. Better yet, make sure you’re in a safe distance away. Even if you think it won’t result into something bad. This is Minecraft we’re talking about.

I ended up melting one block of ice on the first floor. I did not realize one small block of ice can melt into so many patches of water. I was under the impression that a water bucket would help pick up the water. Ironically, the water bucket made it worse. I didn’t even realize the plain bucket option ’til when it was too late. Within a matter of seconds, it went from a single ice cube to several patches of water  to a whole river pooling out of the terraces and into the ocean. I ended up “surfing” through the tide for a bit.

So how did I clear this mess up? Knowing me, I probably did the longer way when there was probably an easier solution. I desperately put blocks of concrete on top of where the ice melted. That pushed the water to stream down the slope and back into the ocean.

So here are some tips that I learned. Pretty mountains can be distracting. A water bucket isn’t a bucket that picks up water. If you want a waterfall effect, just melt an ice cube! Make sure you know how to make a map. And lassssstly, don’t sssssssssay I didn’t warn ye.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2011 by in Dingbats and Doodads and tagged , , .
